Along the River

copyright 2017

Wandering along the river’s shore,
I sing for what cannot be.
Forevermore washed downstream,
I carry only thee.

The darkness wraps around us,
The sun sets in the west,
The river flows quickly onward,
Rest, my child, rest.

The sun will rise tomorrow morn,
And warm the land anew,
But whether we will find our home,
Sleep the night through.

We will never find a way to cross,
In the dark of night,
So I will wander along the shore,
Sleep until the light.

The river roars and cuts the earth,
No place shallow to cross,
I sing for what cannot be, my child,
I sing for what I have lost.

autumn_sunset-south-saskatchewan-river

This entry was posted in Katy Originals, Loyalties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

