Meditations by a Grave

copyright 2016

I stand beside your grave today,
Only a wooden cross to mark it,
Amid many more, small and large,
In the woods away from all we know.

I fought for you, but I bury you instead.

I stand here in a foreign land,
And yet one not unlike our home,
With trees and rivers and birds,
Reminding me of what I fought for.

I fought for King and Country, but for my family and my home.

I stand where I will keep fighting,
Only battles of a different kind,
Memories of distant battles,
And of those still too near.

I fought for the Crown, but for our rights.

I stand here believing still,
Though others taunted me,
Told me that I deserved to die,
My family too, my land gone.

I fought for you, but I bury you instead.

I stand here amid my men,
Men that I led in battle,
Men that have died for following me,
And who still await my orders.

I fought for them, but with them.

I stand here beside your grave today,
Your future gone,
Myself somewhat to blame,
Amid the desolation.

I fought for you, but I bury you instead.

I stand here with my head bowed,
But then I raise it high,
Shoulders back, I call attention,
And we salute you as we march away.

I fought for you, and I will fight again.

dscf9385

This entry was posted in Katy Originals, Loyalties and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meditations by a Grave

  1. Pingback: Loyalties – The Grand Ballroom | Katy by the Fireplace

Leave a Reply

